NVU Leadership

NVU Leadership

The Northern Vermont University Executive Team

Elaine C. Collins, President

Dr. Elaine C. Collins came to the Vermont State Colleges System in 2015 as the president of Johnson State College after serving as dean and chief operating officer of the College of Education at Grand Valley State University in Allendale, Michigan. She is the first president of Northern Vermont University.

During her professional career, she has served as president of the Michigan Association of Colleges for Teacher Education and as a member of various boards including the Literacy Center of West Michigan, Women’s Center, and West Shore Chapter of the American Red Cross. She currently serves as a vice-president of the Lamoille Economic Development Corporation.

A first-generation college student, Elaine holds a Ph.D. in education policy and leadership. During her time at Grand Valley State University, she strengthened academic programs, galvanized faculty, increased financial support, improved the physical plant, embraced an inclusive vision of shared governance, and expanded external programs. Her research interests focus on arts and education.

In her tenure in the Vermont State Colleges System, Elaine has secured national recognition for the Johnson campuses’ liberal arts programs from the Council of Public Liberal Arts Colleges, resulting in the college being designated Vermont’s Premier Public Liberal Arts campus. Additionally, she helped secure a major grant from the Davis Educational Fund to support general education curriculum development for Northern Vermont University, successfully advocated for increased funding from the state legislature to support the colleges’ transition to Northern Vermont University, and led the process of unifying the Lyndon and Johnson campus administrations, policies, and processes.

Nolan Atkins, Provost

Dr. Nolan Atkins is the first provost of Northern Vermont University. Nolan, who was the interim president of Lyndon State College during the 2016-17 academic year, is the former chair of Lyndon’s nationally recognized Atmospheric Sciences Department. He began teaching at Lyndon in 1997 and was interim dean of academic affairs for 18 months until serving as president. He has a doctorate in meteorology from the University of California-Los Angeles.

Nolan’s research interests are in the area of mesoscale meteorology with a focus on severe local storms. Professor Atkins has published papers on the sea breeze, dryline, bow echoes, tornadoes, and supercell thunderstorms. He has also been involved in many field programs including the Convection and Precipitation/Electrification Experiment (CaPE), the Bow Echo and MCV Experiment (BAMEX), and both Verification on the Origins of Rotation in Tornadoes Experiment (VORTEX 1 and 2).

His current focus is on better understanding the relationship between the visual characteristics, damage, and radar signatures produced by tornadoes. He is also looking at the formation and structure of wall clouds observed with supercell thunderstorms.

As an administrator, he has a strong commitment to students, faculty and staff in all his previous assignments and comes highly recommended for his integrity, forward-looking vision and data-driven decision making. He is responsible for managing academic programs, administering the review process for faculty promotion and tenure, overseeing development of courses and degree programs, and other essential aspects of academic policy and procedure at NVU.

Jonathan Davis, Dean of Students

As Dean of Students, Jonathan Davis oversees all aspects of student life, supervising various campus programs and supports that enrich the college experience for students, and serves as a liaison between college administrators and student organizations, such as the Student Government Association. While Student Affairs primarily focuses on non-academic issues, the division is committed to student academic success and in monitoring students who are struggling in or out of class.

Additionally, Jonathan contributes his time to students as the ACHA Club Hockey coach and as an advisor to several campus clubs and the Vermont State Colleges Systems Student Government Association.

Jonathan has worked through all levels within the Division of Student Affairs at Lyndon for the past 20 years. He has served in the capacity of Associate, Interim, and Dean of Students since 2007 at Lyndon and assumed the same responsibilities at Johnson State College in 2017 with the unification into NVU. His experience across all levels of Student Affairs provides him with a ground-level perspective to what students need to be successful, and he is passionate about each student achieving success in the living and learning campus communities.

Toby Stewart, Dean of Administration

Toby has been in the Vermont State Colleges System for more than 12 years, most recently as Controller of Northern Vermont University and previously Johnson State College.  He has held leadership roles in various committees including Unification and Strategic Planning. Additionally, he assumed the role of Interim Physical Plant Director for Johnson during a transition in leadership.

Toby began his professional career in the aerospace industry working for the Goodrich Corporation in Vergennes, Vermont where he was a Controller for seven of his 14 years. He has been active in his community volunteering as a coach, board member, and youth group leader. 

President's Leadership Team

The President's Leadership Team is a cross-campus team with directors and others from functional areas of the university.

  • Elaine Collins
    President, Johnson and Lyndon
  • Nolan Atkins
    Provost, Johnson and Lyndon
  • Jonathan Davis
    Dean of Students, Johnson and Lyndon
  • Toby Stewart
    Dean of Administration, Johnson and Lyndon
  • Thom Anderson
    Associate Academic Dean, Johnson and Lyndon
  • Kathy Armstrong
    Director of Human Resources, Johnson and Lyndon
  • Tanya Bradley
    Director of Financial Aid, Johnson and Lyndon
  • Bobbi Jo Carter
    Associate Dean of Distance Education, NVU Online
  • Dan Daley
    Professor and Faculty Assembly Chair, Lyndon
  • Sara Kinerson
    Director of Advising, Johnson
  • Sylvia Plumb
    Director of Marketing and Communications, Johnson and Lyndon
  • Erin Rossetti
    Director of Student Life, Lyndon
  • Tyrone Shaw
    Associate Professor and Faculty Assembly Chair, Johnson
  • Jamey Ventura
    Associate Dean of Athletics, Johnson and Lyndon