Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

Dates and Deadlines for the 2019-20 Academic Year

This calendar applies to students in our campus-based academic programs, our 90% online Early Childhood Education program, and our online master's in leadership studies program. NVU Online students in our 100% online undergraduate programs should refer to the calendar in the NVU Online section of this website. 

Winter Session 2020

Thursday, January 2 - Saturday, January 18

Spring 2020

Tuesday, January 21 First day of classes
Monday, January 27 Final day to add full-semester courses without instructor permission
Tuesday, February 4 Final day to drop full-semester courses
Monday-Friday, February 24-28 No classes; Winter Break
Monday-Friday, March 16-20 No classes; Spring Break moved due to preparation for temporary remote instruction starting March 23. Read more about NVU's response to COVID-19. 
Monday, March 16 Second-half courses begin. 
Monday, March 23 - Friday, April 3 Temporary remote instruction. Read more about NVU's response to COVID-19. 
Friday, March 20 Last day to add second-half courses without instructor permission
Monday, March 23 Last day to drop second-half course courses 
Friday, March 27 Last day for full-semester course withdrawals
Monday, April 13 Registration for Fall 2020 begins
Monday, April 20 Last day to withdraw from second-half courses
Friday, May 8 Last day of classes
Monday-Thursday, May 11-14 Final examination period
Saturday, May 16 Final grades due
Saturday, May 16 NVU–Johnson Commencement
Sunday, May 17 NVU–Lyndon Commencement

Summer Sessions 2020

First Session Wednesday, May 20-Friday, July 3
Second Session Monday, July 6-Friday, August 14

Fall 2020

Monday, August 24 First day of classes
Monday, September 7 No classes; Labor Day
Monday-Friday, October 5-9 No classes; Fall break
Monday-Friday, November 23-27 No classes; Thanksgiving break
Friday, December 11 Last day of classes
Monday-Thursday, December 14-17 Final examination period

Winter Session 2021

Monday, January 4 - Saturday, January 16

 Spring 2021

Tuesday, January 19 First day of classes
Monday-Friday, February 22-26 No classes; Winter break
Monday-Friday, April 5-9 No classes; Spring break
Friday, May 7 Last day of classes
Saturday, May 15 NVU-Johnson Commencement
Sunday, May 16 NVU-Lyndon Commencement