Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar

Dates and Deadlines for the 2020-21 Academic Year

This calendar applies to students in our campus-based academic programs, our 90% online Early Childhood Education program, and our online master's in leadership studies program. NVU Online students in our 100% online undergraduate programs should refer to the calendar in the NVU Online section of this website.

Accelerated Fall 2020 Semester*

*Northern Vermont University will begin the fall semester on Tuesday, August 18, one week earlier than planned. We will then move into an accelerated push through the semester to an early end with a return home for Thanksgiving break and remote exams to complete the semester. Students will not return to campus until the spring semester, which starts January 19, 2021. The number of teaching days will not be affected by these changes. We are making these changes for the health of the full Northern Vermont University community as we navigate the COVID-19 pandemic.

Pass/No Pass: We have established a Pass/No Pass option for Fall 2020 as we did for the Spring 2020 semester. You may submit a request for Pass/No Pass at this link. See FAQs for more information.  

Tuesday, August 18 First day of classes
Monday, August 31 Last date to drop a full semester course
Thursday, September 17 Last date to drop a first-session (August 18-October 9) course with a grade of W
Wednesday, October 14 Last date to add a second-session (October 12-December 2) course
Sunday, October 18 Last date to drop a second-session (October 12-December 2) course
Tuesday, October 20 Last date to drop a full semester course with a grade of W
*NEW* Wednesday-Thursday, October 28-29 October break, adherence to Vermont cross-state travel guidelines required
Wednesday, November 11 Last date to drop a second-session (October 12-December 2) course with a grade of W
Monday-Friday, November 23-27 No classes; Thanksgiving break
Monday-Thursday, November 30-December 3 Remote final examination period
*NEW* Thursday, December 3 Pass/No Pass Deadline; see FAQs
Thursday, December 3, 1 p.m. NVU Johnson December 2020 Graduation Candidates - Graduation Zoom Event
Friday, December 4, 3:30 p.m. NVU Lyndon December 2020 Graduation Candidates - Graduation Zoom Event

Please review our Return To Campus page for up-to-date fall semester protocols and procedures.

Winter Session 2021

Monday, January 4 - Saturday, January 30

 Spring 2021

Monday, February 1 First day of classes
Breaks to be decided  
Friday, May 7 Last day of classes
Saturday, May 15 NVU-Johnson Commencement
Sunday, May 16 NVU-Lyndon Commencement

Final Exam Schedules