Parking Regulations for the Northern Vermont University-Johnson Campus
These regulations have been established to protect the safety of faculty, staff, students and visitors and to control motor vehicle traffic and parking on campus.
All faculty, staff and students who park a motor vehicle, including motorcycles, on university property must register that vehicle with the Public Safety Department and obtain a parking permit. Parking on campus is a privilege. The owner/operator of any vehicle on campus acknowledges they have received these regulations and will operator their vehicle in accordance the with these regulations and Vermont State Law.
Vehicle registrations are completed online. Visit: https://permitsales.net/nvujohnson to register your vehicle. Once registration and payment is complete, permits will be mailed to the address provided.
Student parking permits are $35 for a full semester or $25 for a single semester. Permits are valid through the date indicated on the permit. Permit fees are not refundable. If a permit is lost or stolen, please notify Public Safety immediately. There is a $25 replacement fee for lost or stolen permits. Once reported lost or stolen permits are deemed invalid and cannot be used if recovered. Permits must be displayed (hung) on the review mirror so the permit is visible from the outside of the vehicle. Permits may not be displayed in any other location. Permits cannot be loaned or transferred to others. Permits may be moved to another vehicle that is being operating temporarily. If the permit holder has multiple vehicles the registered permit holder may move the permit back and forth. It is the permit holder’s responsibility to ensure the permit is displayed when the vehicle is on campus. If a permit holder obtains a new vehicle contact Public Safety to update the information on record. Temporary permits may be issued on a case-by-case basis. Temporary handicap permits are available for those with a documented medical condition or impairment. Contact the Public Safety Office for more information.
The person in whose name a permit is registered or the registered owner shall be responsible for all violations occurring on campus. Vehicles that do not display a valid NVU-Johnson permit, are parked in an area not designated for parking, are interfering with snow removal, are parked in a lot designated for a permit type other than the one displayed or other otherwise in violation of the university parking regulations are subject to ticketing.
Vehicles that do not display a valid NVU-Johnson permit and/or have accumulated 3 or more parking violations within an academic year may be immobilized (booted) with a mechanical device that prevents the vehicle from being operated. The immobilization device will only be removed after the operator/owner identifies themselves to the Public Safety Department to make payment arrangements for outstanding violations and a pay $50 immobilization fee. These fines/fees will be added to student accounts.
Prior to a vehicle being immobilized notice will accompany the parking violation(s) prior to the offense that results in vehicle immobilization. If your vehicle is immobilized do not attempt to operate your vehicle, damage will occur. If the owner of an immobilized vehicle does not contact Public Safety within 48 hours of their vehicle being immobilized, the vehicle may be towed without further notice.
Vehicles that are illegally parked in a handicap parking space, fire lane, are blocking or impeding the flow of traffic, or are creating a safety hazard (such as leaking fluids), may be ticketed and/or towed without prior notice. If your vehicle is towed, contact Public Safety for information on retrieval.
All vehicles on Campus must be in operable condition. Vehicles lacking valid license plates, valid inspection stickers, or that are not registered with Public Safety, as well as those that are in such a state of disrepair that they cannot be operated, will be considered abandoned and are subject to removal at the owner’s expense.
If your vehicle has broken down and is inoperable, please notify Public Safety immediately. Vehicles that have not been moved for more than 14 days, and vehicles that pose a hazard (such as leaking fluids), are subject to immediate removal without notice.
Performing vehicle maintenance (e.g., oil changes, engine work, body work, transmission repair, putting a vehicle on jack stands, etc.) on university property is strictly prohibited. A vehicle may be towed for such a violation. The exceptions to this regulation include emergency situations such as use of jumper cables or flat tire repair. Additionally, washing of vehicles on university property is also prohibited.
Violations and Fees
|No valid permit displayed
|Parking in a prohibited area
|Parking in a space or area reserved for others
|Failure to obey regulatory signs
|Occupying more than one space
|Unsafe or negligent driving
|Parking in handicapped space
|Parking in fire lane
|Driving or parking on grassy areas
|Parking on sidewalks or on roads
|Parking within the interior of campus
|Immobilization (Boot) Fee
|Violation of Winter/Sweeping Parking Ban
|Towed vehicle charge
||$ amounts vary
Note: It is possible to receive multiple violations at one time. Cases of reckless driving may result in an administrative hearing and sanctions determined by the university.
Tickets may be e-mailed or mailed to the registered owner of the vehicle for any of the above violations. Tickets not paid within 14 calendar days are considered late and a $5 late fee will be assessed. Pay tickets on time to avoid the late fee. Tickets can be paid online. See ticket for information.
Failure to respond to or pay parking or traffic tickets promptly will result in consequences. In addition to being immobilized and/or towed, operators/owners of vehicles that receive more than 5 parking or traffic tickets in a single year may lose on campus vehicle privileges and may have their vehicle towed from campus upon sight. Permit recipients acknowledge that failure to pay parking or traffic tickets may result in a charge to the recipient’s account or in a deduction of wages owed to the individual by the University upon termination of employment. Students with unpaid parking or traffic fines at the time of separation from the University may be denied copies of their transcripts, degrees or other academic records.
If you believe that a ticket was issued in error, you may appeal the ticket. Appeals must be received within 14 days from the date the ticket was issued to be considered.
PLEASE READ THOROUGHLY
- The university is not responsible for lost or stolen items or damage sustained to vehicles parked on campus. Don’t leave valuables behind. Be sure to lock all doors and check on your vehicle regularly. Please report vandalism and theft immediately to Public Safety.
- Residential students must park in residential lots: Governors, Tennis Court, Lower Senators, Stearns and Martinetti parking lots.
- Commuter students must park in the Bentley or the Visual Arts Center Parking lots.
- Parking on the side of the road, on yellow hatch marks, on the grass or in otherwise prohibited areas, will result in a ticket. All four wheels of your vehicle must be within a designated parking space.
- Overnight parking is allowed only in residential parking lots and in designated spaces in the VACparking lot. Overnight parking is prohibited in all other parking lots.
- Overnight guests should contact Public Safety prior to parking overnight.
- If leaving a vehicle for an extend period of time, please park in the VAC parking lot and contact Public Safety to provide your information.
- Overnight parking is defined as any time between midnight and 7 a.m.
- Students may not park in the Faculty/Staff Parking lot at any time for any reason. This is strictly enforced throughout the calendar year.
- Parking by students, faculty,or staff in parking spaces designated for visitors is prohibited and will result in fines, immobilization, and/or towing.
- During university breaks, between November 1 and April 15, there is a winter parking ban for all residential parking lots- all vehicles must park in the VAC parking lot, no exceptions.
- These parking polices are subject to change.
NVU-Johnson Campus Parking Map
We’re here to help. Contact NVU-Johnson Public Safety at 802.635.1205 or JohnsonSafety@NorthernVermont.edu