NVU During COVID-19
Fall 2022 Policies, Requirements, and Instructions
NVU looks forward to a safe and healthy fall semester. Please read below for policies we’ve put in place.
As of March 11, 2022 NVU has implemented a mask-optional policy.
Students, staff, and faculty should feel welcome and empowered to continue to mask if they feel more comfortable doing so. Please honor those individual masking decisions as we encounter friends, family, and members of the public who feel safer masking or who are safer masking because of health conditions.
The Vermont State Colleges System requires the first two rounds (or one if Johnson and Johnson) of the COVID-19 vaccination for all students enrolled at the residential colleges in the 2022-2023 Academic Year. The vaccination requirement does not apply to students who will not come on to the physical campuses for any reason during the 2022-2023 academic year, such as those who are taking classes exclusively online.
Students must verify their vaccination by filling out this form NorthernVermont.edu/COVID19Vaccination. You will need to take a photo of both sides of your vaccination card to complete the form. Returning students in compliance with vaccine reporting during the 2021-2022 Academic Years are not required to report again.
Our goal remains for all members of the NVU community who can be vaccinated to get vaccinated. We urge you to make every effort to complete your vaccination as soon as possible. Requests for medical and religious exemptions will be considered in accordance with Vermont law. To request an exemption, fill out the COVID-19 Vaccination Exemption Form and return it to the health centers on our campuses.
We expect all NVU community members to continue to use best health and safety practices, including wearing a mask, social distancing whenever possible, regular hand washing, and staying home if symptomatic or ill.
What To Do With Your Test Results
Visit this link to report a positive test. Do not report a negative test. You should notify any close contacts, and seek medical treatment if symptoms warrant.
If you test positive, regardless of vaccination status, you must remain isolated for a minimum of 5 days. You can leave isolation 5 days after a positive test, if:
- You never had COVID-19 symptoms or your symptoms have improved and you feel better, AND
- You have had no fever for at least 24 hours without the use of medicine that reduces fevers, AND
- You wear a mask around others through day 10 after your positive test.
If you have immediate questions, please use the form on this page: NorthernVermont.edu/Questions.