Northern Vermont University is now part of Vermont State University! Please visit for accurate information.

Annual Alumni Awards Announced

Michael Flynn, Hannah Nelson Manley, Shirley Jenks Kent, Vinnie Maloney

Annual Alumni Awards Announced

Recipients to be Acknowledged During Homecoming Weekend

September 22, 2014

Lyndon State College’s Alumni Council has released the names of the 2014 Alumni Awards recipients. The crystal awards will be presented to the recipients on September 27 during Lyndon’s Homecoming and Family Weekend 2014.

T. Michael Flynn ’70 will receive the Distinguished Alumni Award. The award, given annually since 1973, requires winners to be recognized as an excellent professional on a continuous basis; to participate in professional organizations at the local, state, or national level; to demonstrate leadership by holding office; and to be a leader in community activities. The award also takes into consideration years of professional service as well as positions attained, advancement, and personal development through additional course work.

Flynn enlisted in the U.S. Navy after his high school graduation. After being honorably discharged, he enrolled at Lyndon in 1967 and received his Bachelor of Arts in History in 1970. After working at Burke Mountain Resort as a ski instructor and coach, Flynn joined the teaching and coaching staff at Lyndon Institute in 1973. He retired in 2005 after more than 30 years. He is still actively involved at Lyndon Institute as a member of the Board of Trustees. Flynn was also a long-time member of the LSC Alumni Council and served as its president from 1990 to 1992. He now serves as a member of the LSC Foundation and is on its executive board.

This year’s Faculty and Staff Recognition Award recipient is Hannah Nelson Manley ’97. The award is presented to a current or past faculty or staff member who has made a significant impact on the lives of alumni. Consideration is given to the candidate’s years of service, participation in organizations related to his or her profession, and participation or leadership in the Lyndon community. Manley was Lyndon’s director of alumni relations and development from August 2005 until December 2013.

Shirley Jenks Kent ’56 is the winner of the Loyalty Award. This award recognizes LSC alumni volunteers for their exceptional loyalty and faithful service to Lyndon State College. Kent is the chair of Lyndon’s Manor Vail Society Committee, whose mission is to research, collect, record, commemorate, and publicize the history of the Manor Vail from 1951 to its demolition in 1974.

The Award of Special Merit goes to Vincent Maloney ’02. This award is presented to LSC Alumni who are or have been employed by the College and are recognized for their deep interest in, and faithful service and unusual devotion to, Lyndon State College. Maloney has been employed by Lyndon since 2003. He is the director of admissions and the women’s basketball coach.

All four of these awards will be given during the Alumni Awards and Roll Call Brunch on Saturday, September 27, 2014, starting at 9:30 a.m. Registration is required: To purchase tickets, please contact Victoria Rouleau at 802-626-6482; or; or visit The cost is $15 per person.