Northern Vermont University is now part of Vermont State University! Please visit for accurate information.

Freshman National Honor Society Members Inducted

Freshman National Honor Society Members Inducted

New Students Join Lyndon State College’s Alpha Lambda Delta Chapter

April 29, 2014

New members of Lyndon State College’s Alpha Lambda Delta honor society were inducted on April 27. Present for the photo, left to right, were Greg Plourde, Dyllan Durham, Jeremy Sousa, Jacob Roy, Michael Jones, Georgia Bussink, Lauriana Guadet, Hannah Piette, Grace OShin and Julie Thompson.

Lyndon State College inducted 17 freshmen into Alpha Lambda Delta on April 27. ALD is a national honor society for students who have maintained an average GPA of 3.5 or higher and are in the top 20 percent of their class during their first year in higher education. The Alpha Lambda Delta has members in more than 270 chapters and yearly awards 35 scholarships of $1000-$6000.

LSC President Joe Bertolino said, “I am proud of the diligence and hard work these students have put into their first year of college. ALD is an admirable achievement!”

The 2014 inductees are Georgia Bussink, Julianne Marie Corcoran, Brooke Dolloff, Dyllan Durham, Lauriana Gaudet, Gabriel C. Gilliam, Michael Jones, Grace OShin, Patrick Paterson, Hannah Piette, Greg Plourde, Stephanie L. Resila, Jacob Roy, Shaunna Lee Royce, Jeremy Sousa, Julie Thompson, and Taylor Lee West.

Members are asked to make a “meaningful contribution to society” by maintaining high scholarship and using their education for the benefit of community, nation, and the world. LSC Professor Janet Bennion serves as the chapter’s faculty advisor. Kelsi Before, Rachel Karten, Geena Contrada, Michelle Farrell and Meagan Leduc, the officers of LSC’s Alpha Lambda Delta chapter, joined Bennion at the ceremony.